New book: Making Sense

Making sense cover.jpgIn an attempt to freshen up my materials on academic reading and writing for my undergraduate students, I obtained a copy of Northey and Aderkas’ Making Sense: A student’s guide to research and writing.

What appealed to me was the really back-to-basics approach of the book. It is aimed at students, and covers topics like planning to write, errors in grammar and usage, misused words (anyone remember the effect/affect mystery?), but also addresses the use of illustrations and working in groups.

I am slowly making my way through the book, but so far I must say I am impressed. It is a very accessible textbook, written in a clear and easy to understand manner. It uses lots of examples of good and bad practice and even discusses how to approach writing for exam questions.

All that is left now is to start updating my notes and hand outs. If only I had unlimited time…

Northey, M. and von Aderkas, P. (2015) Making Sense: A students guide to research and writing – Life Sciences (2nd edition). Oxford: Oxford University Press. ISBN 978-0-19-901028-8. Find it here.

Leave a Reply

