Cycling to work

carrera-virtuoso-road-bike
The new addition to the bike family

In January I became the proud owner of a new bicycle. A road bike this time, to add to the bicycle family of two mountain bikes. The main reason being that last year I have tried commuting to work on my MTB, and although it felt good, it wasn’t quite right. Now, a year on and still wanting to improve my health and fitness by commuting to work by bike, I have finally made the decision and bought a road bike for the purpose of commuting.

The bike is a 2015 Carrera Virtuoso in white with blue details. It might not be a high end road bike, but as I won’t be racing, it doesn’t need to be one either. Made from a 6061 T6 aluminium alloy it sports an 8-speed Shimano Claris drive train/chainset and Tektro brakes and weighs in at just over 11 kg.

I have bought the bike from Halfords. Although I am very happy with the quality of the bike and the price paid, I am less happy with the quality of the build and attention to detail: On collection I was rushed through the build checks and when I came home I noticed that there were quite a few loose bolts and screws, mainly in areas which were supposedly checked by the Halfords technician who built the bike.

After doing my own extensive check and tightening all bolts and screws, and adding the necessary accessories, I took the bike for a test ride the next day. Following a few minor set-up tweaks, I am impressed by the ride and an looking forward to commuting on it. So there it is, commuting to work by bike will become the new norm.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Viva Survivors

Daily viva help for PhDs

Ewan's cycle camping trip around Scotland's Highlands and Islands

Starting on 22 May 2021 I am setting out on a cycle camping trip around Scotland’s Highlands and Islands. I intend to publish a daily blog of my trip and hopefully you can follow my journey as I progress.

Samuel James Wilson

A website about cycling, a long way and quite often.

Lucy's Life and Bikes

Women's Cycling & Enjoying The Great Outdoors

Bicycling About

An Australian Couple Cycling the World with a Sense of Urgency

A Guy on His Bike

My experience as I explore the world by bike

The Fairly Average Cyclist

All about road cycling here...

Cycling Intelligence

On cycling, long distances and short ones

John Paul Minda, PhD

Professor of Psychology and Author

Words by Jess

A Stream of Thoughts with a Theme of Sorts

DON'T EAT THE CHALK

Public health, health economics, research, geography and probably some powerlifting.

Amira Kalloo’s E-portfolio

An online Portfolio of a Bioveterinary Science Student

MyEvolution

The journey of a Bioveterianary Science (MSci) student

The Grounded Theorist

A resource for anyone interested in developing their awareness of the qualitative methodology Grounded Theory.

Always Learning

Blog dedicated to promoting the use of research in schools

#ARU10DoT Ten Days of Twitter

Ten Days of Twitter for Anglia Ruskin University

Me, Myself & Bioveterinary Science

The Journey of a Bioveterinary Science Student